Extreme Splits

Happy things are going down. This has been an exciting week, and it’s only going to get more exciting!

I am currently on ‘extreme splits’ with my good pal and buddy, Sister Sørensen! We’re getting the extra week, plus another week and a half, together that we didn’t get because our one transfer together was only a 5 week transfer! I love this woman! She says hi. We’re on splits because both of our companions, Sister Van Orden and Sister Mandla, are on a traveling Christmas musical tour around Denmark for 2.5 weeks. So Sister Sorensen and I are sharing Esbjerg and Horsens – 1 week in Esbjerg and 1 week in Horsens. Super exciting! Not only that, but on Friday I was on splits with Sister Ackerman in Odense because Sister Sorensen had to go to Copenhagen with Sister Landvatter for leadership meeting. So I felt like I’ve just been eaten and spit out by everyone (It’s all good, though. I love it)

So. Monday-Wednesday were pretty normal. There was so much stress and anticipation for the Christmas concert that it just needed to start. Thursday morning we took an early train to Fredericia where Sister Van Orden and Sister Mandla headed off to Copenhagen and Sister Sørensen and I came back here to Esbjerg… where we spent the afternoon. Then that night we took a train to Odense (Don’t know why the assistants didn’t just have us spend the day blitzing Odense) where Sister Sørensen and Sister Landvatter took a train to Copenhagen and I stayed in Odense with Sister Ackerman! Crazy stuff, I know. We had a pizza party with the YSA peeps there (Odense has a great YSA program because there’s a big university) and Elder Amos made us all English pizza with mashed potatoes and peaches on top. Don’t even know, but it was good! He had his union jack apron on. He’s about as British as British can get. Peaches.

 

Anyway, the next day we made a card and went and sang to Sister Turpin on her birthday with the elders (Elder Amos and his baby Elder Howe, Elder Jeppsen and his baby Elder Jensen) and then biked 40 mins uphill, against the wind on Sister Ackerman’s bike, which is too small for me. Actually, everyone’s bike is too small for me. Rosemary has got to be the tallest bike I’ve ever seen. Our destination was a member’s house where all the missionaries on Fyn came to eat Julemad (Christmas food!) It was so much fun! I’m really glad I don’t serve around that many missionaries though. It’s nice with just us and our 2 elders in our city.

 

That night Sister Sørensen came back and we took the train to Horsens! The next day we had a little service project (baby one) and their ward party! I love Danish Christmas! They dance around the Christmas tree and sing a bunch of songs and they have little gnomes, or ‘Nisser’ decorating everything. I love it. Plus Christmas  is on the 24th instead of the 25th. We got to hang out with Ghergh (George), a super cute guy that was just baptized. Sister Thompson and I actually went to his baptism. He’s from Romania and can’t walk very well, but he’s such a sweet guy.

 

Saturday night we came back to Esbjerg so we could go to church here Sunday morning, and Sister Van Orden’s bike, the Terminator, was GONE!! Someone stole that thing! I called Sister Van Orden to tell her and she was like “I don’t know if I should laugh or cry.” Rest in peace Terminator. So we’re currently almost bike-less. I still have Rosemary, which I got fixed professionally! Woo! And we have a spare bike, but I need to switch the rear tire tube. Good thing I’m good at that. #BikeProbs

We had 2 investigators in church and 4 less-actives!!! WOOOOO! Our buddy Rommel came because I texted him that morning inviting him to church and telling him that God thinks he’s enough. And he CAME!!! Prayers are answered.

We did a heck ton of family history after church. We’re trying to get better at it. I’ve been trying to find some Danish ancestors but it’s really hard. I wish all the Danish archives were indexed. It’s so hard to read. BUT I did find someone who wasn’t on there before! Let’s go! My brain was pretty fried. It was a great day!

Last night we were walking around and we found a good sized Christmas tree right next to a dumpster! It was a good tree too! And luckily enough, we were right by the elder’s apt, so we carried it over there and left it in front of their door. I left a few voicemails that were like, “Dear elders. We have something for you that’s green and prickly, and no it’s not the grinch. You’re welcome. Love, the sisters.” I bet every pair of elders wishes they had sisters like us. But no, it actually was super fun. I think I was just as excited for them to come home as they were when they did!

I’m super excited for this next week! This week we’re spending in Esbjerg and then next we’re spending in Horsens. Party! I feel like a nomad. Actually, Sister Sorensen and I were talking and we realized that we have dual citizenship in both the Nordjylland zone and the Sydjylland zone! Plus we’re kind of taking over Denmark because I was on splits in Odense, so we’ve got Fyn, and then on Wednesday I’ll be going on splits in Slagelse (!!!!!!!!!! SO EXCITED!!!!!) So we’ll have Sjælland too! Taking over the world, one country at a time.

Love you all! Congrats to my best friend Alyssa who is getting married this weekend!

Byyye!!!
Søster Fergie

Quote:
Søs Sø: “My question is, did they receive all those things on each day, so at the end there were 12 partridges? Cause I always just picture a very crowded living room.”

(I asked Lucy to explain the title of last week’s blog “Santa the Muslim Priest.” Here’s what she replied to me: “So the santa muslim priest thing is funny. There’s this old Muslim man who we see EVERYWHERE. He has this big white beard and this red and white turban on every time we see him. We decided to finally go up and ask him his name, and he said, ‘I’m Mohammed, and I’m a Muslim priest.’ Before we knew his name, we just called him Santa. 🙂 “)

Splits in Odense with Sister Ackerman!

Splits in Odense with Sister Ackerman!

This is me (trying to) translate for Ghergh at the Horsen's ward Christmas party

This is me (trying to) translate for Ghergh at the Horsen’s ward Christmas party

Man shepherd

So. We got the elders a tree for free! You're welcome. Don't say we never did anything for you.

So. We got the elders a tree for free! You’re welcome. Don’t say we never did anything for you.

Leave a Reply

