Hva’ Be’ Ha’?

Hva’Be’Ha’?

Oh what a beautiful mooorning! Oh what a gloomy day…
But seriously, it’ll be clear and sunny during studies, but when we actually have to go outside, the clouds come. Luckily, that little bit of sunshine gives me energy nok to keep calm and carry on (not that there’s need to keep calm. Life is good.)

Life. What is life? Don’t even know.

Hmm, what was I going to talk about. I lugged my big fat journal to the library just so I could remember what happened this week. The weeks go by faster and faster.

Last Monday:
I emailed my family and friends. That was a big plus. It’s actually my favorite part of P-day. They’re setting up an ice skating rink in the city square! We made snowflakes… not much else.

Tuesday:
We didn’t have as many lessons as we’d planned for because plans fell through, BUT we had an excellent lesson with Nana (that girl I talked about before, that we’d knocked into). We made a loose plan to talk about the plan of salvation, but we pretty much just let her ask any questions she wanted. We talked about everything under the sun! Well, not everything, but so many things! She was so curious and interested! She was glad that we don’t support abortions and very much support adoption. SUCH A great lesson. I love her.

Wednesday:
District meeting. It’s the best! I love it. It was Elder Weese’s birthday, so Sister Van Orden and I wrote him a poem about everything we admired about him. Sadly, it was super short because we know literally nothing about him since we only see him once a week. But we thought it was great! We were going to make it into a song, but we didn’t have time. And I got ANOTHER flat tire. Luckily, Elder Gerber is a pro. I am apparently not. Just like baking. I can’t bake.

Thursday:
“I do not like rain. I do not like it, Sam I Am. In the summer it’s glorious, but Spring/Fall it’s cold and miserable, especially because the only jacket I have that’s waterproof isn’t warm enough. I would rather it snow than rain.

Haha, earlier I was unlocking my bike and a bird dropped a nasty brown treasure on my handlebars. The spot where we park our bikes is kind of a dropping ground. They sit on the roof with their rear ends sticking over the edge and just poop. We were trying to fix my bike the other day and we had to duck and cover because it was bombs away! I hate birds.”

We went to Ribe! My Grandma Fergie sent me a bunch of stories and such about my ancestors in Denmark, and I have an ancestor who was the bishop of the Ribe domkirke! It was the first place I’ve been in in Denmark so far that I come from! All the rest of my ancestors come from Hjørring (elders’ area) and Bornholm (elders’ area). We tried to go in the domkirke, but it was closed. GOING BACK. I need to go in that place. I took pictures of the outside though!

Friday:
Weekly planning. Super exciting.
I discovered the books of Chronicles in the bible. Lots of baby names ideas.
Visited some cute people and their cute kids, ate dinner with a cute member and her friend (who’s also a member) who looks like Bernie, Dash Parr’s school teacher from the Incredibles. Like no joke, it’s Bernie. We had such a good time and had an excellent lesson on Happiness! 🙂

THEN vi fik fat i Michael! We had our first lesson with him in two weeks after he and his girlfriend broke up and he still wants to continue with the lessons, but he doesn’t want a baptismal date yet. This is such good news! We’ve been praying our little hearts out. He even prayed and read the Book of Mormon in those 2 weeks! Let’s go!

Saturday:
Sister O’Bryant called to chat which brightened up my day, along with the sunshine, which sadly didn’t last very long, like I told you before. In fact, it poured. I brought out my rain jacket and found out that it’s only rain resistant. Enough rain and it’s useless. We were so wet. I felt like we were breaking the white handbook because we were swimming. So wet. We did get a new investigator for our efforts though! Super excited. She’s from Vietnam. We’ll see how this goes.

We biked over to our dinner appt and it was still coming down in buckets. She let us borrow some shirts while ours dried (but they actually didn’t because she forgot to actually turn the radiator on, desværre). Putting those back on afterward and going back out was not fun. We were so cold. I think they’re still drying. My bag, at least, is. It smells so bad. Wet leather is not a party to deal with. Luckily I’d made scripture cases for my scriptures out of cornflakes boxes and it held! So happy!

Yesterday:
One of the bishopric called in the morning as we were getting ready for church and told us that a lady who was supposed to give a talk called and said she couldn’t come…. Guess what that means?!! We had 30 mins to prepare our talks because we had to leave early to get to choir practice. I basically just whipped out my training I gave in district meeting a few weeks ago on Faith and gave that. It was one of the best talks I have ever given! I didn’t have time to freak out and I barely looked at my paper! It was great! Sister Van Orden gave a great talk on Prayer. Simple and sweet. Good stuff!

We went with the elders to dedicate a less active’s house, then had lunch out on our little picnic table outside our apt. It cracks me up because we’ll be eating there with the elders (because they can’t come into our apt) and someone’ll walk by. We’ll just smile and wave. We’re such weirdos. Eating outside in November.

Okay. That was my week.

I would just like everyone to know that I’ve picked up a talent of recognizing where people are from and the language they’re speaking. Like I can look at a person and know that they’re German and not Danish. I know how to spot a Greenlander and how to look at a Book of Mormon and know that it’s Albanian and know that in Iran they speak Persian, while in Afghanistan they speak Arabic. What is this multi-cultural/multi-racial thing? Denmark is just as diverse as America.

OH my gosh. I had a great study in Jesus the Christ about feeding the 5000. Haha, so Jesus makes the food and such and then the people start crying “Jesus! Our King!” and Jesus sends the apostles away because of the materialism of the people in wanting Him to be their king. Jesus then is like “Disperse!” and the people leave and He goes up to the mountain to pray. The apostles, however, are out on the sea in their boat, and this is where Jesus walks on water towards them and the incredible miracle with Peter happens. The next morning the people are like “Huh? Where’d Jesus go?!” and they Brrrrrhhhhh race over to the docks on the other side of the sea to see the boat Jesus and His apostles are in. They’re like “THERE he is!! We found Him!” Jesus is such a patient man. I admire Him so much. I’m sure He got tired of teaching sometimes and just wanted to take a nap, but the people swarmed Him 24/7.
They’re just like “Jesus, what’s for lunch?” Jesus sees all the people and reads their hearts and sees that they only are following Him because He’d just shown that He could produce food out of thin air and they were hungry. He tells them that instead of seeking for physical nourishment, they should seek for the spiritual nourishment that only the Father can give. He lost a lot of followers that day.
Anyway, good stuff.

I’ll talk to you later!

Søster Fergie

Quotes:
Bishop: “On my mission we used to sing “I’m dreaming of a white Christmas” when we were talking about baptisms in December.”

Æ Jensen: “I CANNOT express how much I want you all to be happy. Don’t do it for you, do it for me.”

Søs Van Orden: “I’ve never met anyone who sounds so literally like a caveman.”

“People need songs like this when they’re 13 with acne and braces. All my friends have boyfriends and I don’t even have a cell phone!”

“No one has ever told me I’m beautiful except my mom and God.”

“…and cider with alcohol in it is still against the word of wisdom, even if it tastes good. I Jesu Kristi navn, amen.”

Lady in the ward: “I don’t know, ask God!”

...they smelled like a horse.

…they smelled like a horse.

​That's my ancestor! #Ribe #PederHegelund

​That’s my ancestor! #Ribe #PederHegelund

Flot

Flot

Twinners!

Twinners!

Leave a Reply

