That’s All I Want, Chad!

Hello, Hello, my dear people. Today is a day to be remembered. Today is the day I set foot on Jylland! Transfers came and I got called to Vejle! (Vai-luh. It’s all good if you just wanna call it Vej-luh) I’m here with the lovely and stupendous Sister Thompson, who I already pretty much know intimately thanks to Sister Floyd. We’re pretty stoked to be together! I think she’s heard as much about me from Sister Floyd as I’ve heard about her. Slagelse was SO hard to leave. The demon Ward sang “God Be With You til We Meet Again” in sacrament meeting yesterday, and I was bawling. Natasha Mølholt was nicely rubbing my arm, and Bishop came up to me afterwards and asked if I knew how to stop the tears. Dang man, I love him so much! What is it with bishoprics witnessing me break down? I’ve cried in front of too many bishopric members from too many wards.

I said a lot of hard goodbyes: Solveig and Christa and Tina and Vibeke and Anny and Leo and…. neverending list. I came to Slagelse to Sister Floyd in the summertime. It was beautiful and sunny and so very happy, and then got Sister Sorensen and we haven’t had a bad day! I actually told the ward, yesterday when I bore my testimony, that I haven’t had one bad day the entire 4 months of my stay there. Happiness is loving members who love the missionaries and missionary Work, and sunshine, so many sunsets, no hills, inside jokes, two of the best companions and some fantastic elders. My time in Slagelse was steller and priceless. I’m going to seriously miss that place!

And I’ve come to mørk Jylland (or how it was in my head, because all I’ve known in Sjælland. Mørk means dark, btw. Sorry, sometimes I forget the Whole World doesn’t speak Danish) and Vejle with lots of hills and Sister Thompson who’s a beast. It’s gonna be a good time. My legs are already feeling the burn.

Today I got on the train with Sister Soelberg and she got off in Odense, and I kept going all by my lonesome self (weirdest thing ever, but it was okay because I had some invisible person with me. Most awesome feeling ever, btw) to Vejle. Vejle is way pretty but it’s got some CRAAAZY hills. We live on one actually.

Anyway, not a lot has happened here in Vejle so I’m gonna tell you about my past week.

K, story time. So back at the end of my last transfer with SIster Floyd we knocked on the door of a really nice lady. She let us in and we found out she was muslim and she was from Bosnia. It was the end of Ramadan, the muslim fasting month, so she had a ton of treats she gave us! She didn’t have a paper plate so she let us take food home on one of hers! Way nice of her! We made an appt to come back and did, but she wasn’t home. So with Sister Sorensen, we’d tried to drop by with the plate numerous times, but she was never home. On Tuesday we thought we’d try again. She wasn’t home and I was just like “Well, let’s just leave a note and the plate.” While I was writing a note, a man comes up the stairs with two other people and unlocks the door, and the apartment is completely empty! Apparently she’d moved a few weeks ago! So we thought, “I guess we’ll just keep the stinking plate.” Later that day we were out visiting a member, had a good time, then left and I remembered that I’d seen the same last name of the lady on an apartment close to this member’s house. We had to catch our bus, but we thought we’d stop by and see. We knocked and IT WAS HER!!!! The very day we found out she’d moved, we found her! She told us that she’s been staying in her mom’s house and she’s actually moving into her new apt on Monday! So if we hadn’t’ve knocked that day, we would have never found her. PLUS! We totally still had her plate. Got that thing back to her. And we made a return appt. We couldn’t believe it.

So one of our other things we’re working on is not just sharing uplifting messages with less actives, but trying to get them to the temple! We have around 3 people we’ve talked to about the temple and they were interested! There was one in particular that didn’t seem like she was interested. We’d talked to her about it and she didn’t understand why it was important and didn’t think she needed to go. We had another appt with her and really prayed that God would soften her heart, and she was so very accepting of it! Not only that, but during the lesson I was prompted to tell her something that ended up changing her mind. I love this, it’s also helped me think about why the temple is important to me.

Thursday we had an adventure and another miracle. So back when Sister Floyd was here, we’d planned to bike Down to Flakkebjerg, 11 kilometers south, because there was a potential right before Flakkebjerg whose last name is SONNE (Lucy’s closest Danish ancestors are Sonne.), so I was like “We gotta go by to see if she’s still interested.” We didn’t go, we didn’t go, but Thursday Sister Sorensen and I decided to go. There’s a bike path all the way down that used to be railroad so it was straight cut and way fun to bike on. We biked clear out in the boonies and came to a house that looked like no one was home. That morning we prayed hard that not only would she be home, but she’d be interested, because it was risky going clear out there anyway because we didn’t know about either of those things. So we knock on the door and she answers. We tell her who we are and that we have a message about Christ, and she doesn’t ask any questions, she just lets us in! She still has a Book of Mormon from 2 years ago when the sisters brought her to church! It was an excellent lesson and we made a return appt! #NyUndersøger #Let’sGo

Then we biked down to Flakkebjerg and tried to drop by a few people, but no one was home desværre, so we biked up a different road and popped out right next to Sørbymagle! That was an accomplishing feeling. I think we biked over 14 kilometers! Woot. We had a wonderful last dinner appt with Anny and Leo and a billion other people because it was this dude in our ward’s birthday, and he’d shot some… doves. that we… ate. Check that off my bucket list. I was secretly hoping they were pigeons, but then I got thinking and I think pigeons might be unclean. But man, the satisfaction that would’ve come with eating a pigeon. I think I’ll stick with chicken 😛

I love being a missionary! Sometimes I feel like I need to be better or working towards progression in talent or missionary-ness, which is true, but it’s been so nice to realize and feel that the missionary I am right now is who God needs for someone, and I am enough. I’ve felt the Spirit working through me so many times in this past week, and that, I think, is a miracle in itself because it’s shown me that there is a God who loves me and wants to help me help His children. Christa told me yesterday that I should write home and tell my parents what a courageous, faithful, and loving missionary I am. That meant so much because it was God speaking through her telling me that I am already courageous, even if I’m not AS courageous or bold as other missionaries. I am the missionary God needs.

Have a wonderful week! I love you all! Looking forward to this new transfer!

Søster Fergie

Quotes:
Me: “Suckers are dumb. Suckers are dumb-DUMS! ha!”
Æ Curtis: “Wow that’s true. You are right!”
Æ Lester: “Shh, can you all feel the spirit right now?”
*us all giving him weird looks*
Æ Lester: “…it’s testifying of the truth of what Sister Ferguson just said.”

“Paul Holtmann”
Søs Sø: “I didn’t read the L in his last name so I thought it said ‘Paul Hotmann’. He’s so hot he has 2 N’s”

So we were over at Anny and Leo’s for dinner and I was like, “If I was an animal, I’d be a cat. What an easy life” and then I asked Leo if he could be something, what would he be. He said “Bumblebee, the transformer” and then Anny walks by with a plate of food and just says “I’d be Optimus Prime”

I knocked a dead moth off a balcony and then started singing that one song that plays on Toy Story when Buzz falls off the balcony, “And I will go sailing… no more.” It was way funny.

Me: “Hi! We’re missionaries from our church and we’re out to share a message about families!”
Lady: “A message about blasphemy?”

Æ McDougall: “What is this, ‘the island of misfit principles?’”

Søs Sø: “This trick is sweet! You know what else is sweet? Prayer. And dåb. and the fruit of the tree of life.”

We’re in choir and Johannes is going over the tenor part, but Jytte just keeps trying to jump in soprano and gets confused about why everyone else isn’t singing (she didn’t get the memo that he was just working the tenors) and I was like “Jytte just wants to sing! That’s all she wants, Chad!” (Apparently, this is an inside joke that only Lucy and her sister Wendy are in on.)

Me: “I would never date a bike like this.”

Too good to pass up!

Too good to pass up!

This is our Triumph Picture. We made it all the way from Slagelse to Flakkebjerg to Sørbymagle!

This is our Triumph Picture. We made it all the way from Slagelse to Flakkebjerg to Sørbymagle!

I love this girl!

I love this girl!

We love Tina. She's the best.

We love Tina. She’s the best.

Leave a Reply

