Mr. Rooty-Root

Hello! What a great week. But before I tell you about it,

Things that make me happy:
• Blowing bubbles out our window
• The Embark cd
• Zig-zaggy leggings
• No makeup and still feel super cute
• A clean apt
• Kærlighed T-shirts
• Colorful scriptures
• Gummy teeth
• Green jello
• USA pride
• Søster Floyd
• That satisfying feeling at the end of a good day
• Sleep
• Our elders
• Spiritual highs
• Pastries
• A new apt
• Rain

SO. Lots of things. As usual.
We had a rocking 4th of July! I got a red white and blue sweater from H&M (best comp ever bought it for me. Love you babe.), and we had a BBQ at a member’s house after we did a bunch of service for them! We had red white and blue ice cream, a BBQ’d flæskesteg, and we sang them the star spangled banner with harmonies. ‘Cause that’s how we roll. We also made potato salad and pico de gallo 🙂 Yup yup. God bless America.

It has gotten so dang hot. Like it went from 65 degrees outside to 82 in one day. Hello July and hello summer. I have unfortunately discovered that I really only have black skirts. I was dying the other day when I made the mistake of wearing all black. But, with sunshine comes good things, such as: tanness! I’ve gotten tan for the first time really in my life! And because I’ve gotten tan and my hair has gotten blonder, I haven’t been wearing a lot of makeup and I still look crazy adorable! (If I do say so myself 😉 )

The Sederholms are gone. It was really emotional. We love them so much.
On Thursday we had a meeting in Roskilde to meet our new president and his wife! Their names are Præsident and Søster O’Bryant! And they are so nice! They’re a lot different than the Sederholms, but I wouldn’t expect them to be the same.

Søs Floyd and I had an experience this past week where we were very nicely chastised for something and we took it to heart and decided to change. We were only being good missionaries and not the best missionaries we could’ve been. So we made some goals, one of which was to get better at contacting and talking to people, a skill which I’ve really been working on my entire life. I’m the kind of person who slowly opens up to people. Going up to someone and starting a conversation is something my mom is VERY good at, but I didn’t pick up on that gene, so it’s been really hard for me. BUT I read in chapter 6 of PMG and there was a paragraph that said, “Christlike attributes are gifts from God. They come as you use your Agency righteously. Ask your Heavenly Father to bless you with these attributes; you cannot develop them without His help. With a desire to please God, recognize your weaknesses and be willing and anxious to improve.” I read this and realized that ya, thinking about going up to someone and talking about the gospel sounds so very scary when I’m all alone (not including Søs Floyd) but like just me by myself, but I never really thought that in order to gain the strength and courage I need, I CANNOT do it by myself, I have to have Heavenly Father’s help. So on Friday, right before we left the apt, we said a prayer and I asked God to bless us and help us and give us the strength we lack so that our weaknesses can be made strong. We went out and contacted SO many people! It came so naturally! And we also learned that we need to, and can work together as a companionship to talk to people. I’m not alone and I definitely believe in angels. My favorite thing is the feeling we get at the end of the day, a feeling of satisfaction knowing you’ve done your best that day. We had a few of those this week and I’d like to keep ’em coming 🙂

I don’t feel like I’m permanently changed, it’s something I’ve got to keep working on every day, but I am so grateful for the chances I’ve had this past week to see that I CAN do it!

“Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for in his strength I can do all things; yea, behold, many mighty miracles we have wrought in this land, for which we will praise his name forever.” Alma 26:12

Ok, a few random things:
Do you remember that man I told you about with the incredible hair that we saw at the library? Well, we contacted him this week and found out that his name is Razir and we aren’t the first missionaries who’ve talked with him. We got a selfie! I’d been trying to get a creeper pic, just of his hair, but it hadn’t been working (I’m a weenie), but now I have a freaking selfie. Mission Accomplished.

We also contacted another man the other day, his name is Ramazan and he’s muslim, and right now the muslims have this month long fast where they only eat between 10 pm and 3 am, but this guy was totally eating a kebab. When we asked him about it, he shushed the sky and laughed. Rebellious man.
There was a color run here in Slagelse last week! And they ran right past our apartment! It was so awesome! We were just leaning out the window watching them all run by and this guy totally blew me a kiss! Haha, I guess that’s as good as I’m gonna get for the next year 😉

Well, it’s been a great week. I’m excited for this next one!
Ha’ det godt!

Søster Fergie

Quotes:
Æ Hawkes: “There’s a trial in my brownie!”

Me: “You know when you leave chicken for a while and it gets that stuff on it? I thought that’s what jello was, just strawberry flavored.”

Søs Fl: “That poor man. He must be so uncomfortable with whatever is stuck up his butt.”

Søs Fl: “That poor girl. Someone stole her pants.”

Me: “This picture needs to be my new cover picture. You look good, and I look good, and that fox just looks so foxy!”

So since you didn’t get any pictures last week (You wouldn’t be getting any this week either but Elder Hawkes is really nice and letting me borrow his card reader.), you get double pictures today! Woo partay.

 

Razir and his luscious hair

Razir and his luscious hair

Ældster

Ældster

Parrot

Parrot

That fox just looks so foxy!

That fox just looks so foxy!

​'Murica (just cause the flowers were red and white)

​’Murica (just cause the flowers were red and white)

Flødt himmel

Flødt himmel

Munch

​A nasty green pond. #summertimeapparently

​A nasty green pond. #summertimeapparently

Leave a Reply

