Freaking June!

Happy Father’s Day in the US! Father’s Day in Denmark was the 5th of June, so yesterday was just for our dads 🙂 Also, Happy Happy Birthday to my Brother Ian WHO GET’S HOME FROM HIS MISH TOMORROW!!! Love you so much.

Min bror har fødselsdag, og det har han jo, og det er i dag!
Min bror har fødselsdag, og det har han jo i dag!
Og høre nu her hvordan vi alle råbe vil,
Og høre nu her hvordan vi råbe vil!
Hoorah hoorah hoorah hoorah  hoorah  hoorah  hoorah  hoorah  hoorah  hoorah  hoorah  hoorah  hoorah  hoorah  hoorah!

Last Sunday our investigator, the one who was supposed to get baptized on Saturday, Marianne, dropped us for private reasons that I won’t share. We had kind of a break-down on Tuesday. We were trying to decide what to do. We were going to call off the baptism and Sister Floyd asked me who we should call first. I told her that we should call the zone leaders. We called them and Elder Hawkes asked if we’d prayed about our decision. We told him no and that we’d call him right back. We got down on our knees and prayed – we actually ended up saying two prayers – and we felt that we should cancel it and also that we shouldn’t call her or text her or go over to her house until she calls or texts us or until God lets us know that it’s alright. It felt like a giant burden had been lifted. It’s one of the few times in my life that I’ve actually felt something like that. We both felt so peaceful and calm. So we called everyone that we’d set up appts with or dåb logistics and told them it’s been cancelled.

I’ve got some happy things to tell you, though! So last Monday, after I was done emailing, I was chilling on a couch at the library, writing a letter, when a man walks up to me and asks if I speak English and if I could help him. I told him I did and he led me over to a computer and then asked me what the difference is between humidity and moisture. I had never thought about this before, but I explained it (humidity is in the air and moisture is like condensation) and then got talking about why I’m in Denmark. He’s from Kosovo and he invited us over to talk more with him and his wife! So on Wednesday we went over (he lives just down the street from the church, coincidentally enough) and we had a really great discussion! I’m so excited about him and his wife! They’re way nice. Their names are Besnik and Valentina. Woo! I love when God gives us people. Didn’t even do anything, I was just chilling in the library.

We had 4 people in church yesterday! Bettina Ronnenberg got reactivated because she came! Also Christa came and if she comes one more time she’ll also be reactivated! She hadn’t been to church in 6 years and now she loves coming! She couldn’t come last week because she was sick and she thought we hated her because she missed church. We set her right and told her how much we love her and how proud we are of her. She told us the other day that she wants to go to the temple. We are so excited to help her reach that goal. Salma (the bus/running adventure story a few weeks ago) came also! We are so very excited to start working with her! She lives clear up in Havnsø, but we’re willing to make the sacrifices to bring her to this wonderful fold.

Haha, so I hooked my little brother up with a pen pal here, the bishop’s son Samuel. They’ve been emailing back and forth and such, but yesterday Vibeke, the bishop’s wife, came up and asked me what Spencer (my brother) was talking about with swimming and such. I then had to attempt to explain boy scouts. I never thought I’d have to do that in my life. It was so hard. She was like “ya we tried putting it into Google translate and it just didn’t make sense” and I was just like “one does not simply explain boy scouts…” I thought it was funny.

OUR NEW DISTRICT IS THE BEST IN THE WORLD!! Elder Hawkes and Elder Lester are like the male equivalent of Sister Floyd and I because they’re best friends. And then ELDER GUDMUNDSON!! My big Brother. I am so very excited to be with him. I am so happy. Happy Happy. Elder Hawkes: “Ya, it’s like Sister Ferguson’s dream district.” yup yup.

Yesterday we sang “Savior, Redeemer of my Soul” in Danish in church! We’d been practicing all week and we got Johannes, an Austrian man in our Ward who is a piano prodigy, to play for us. It sounded so good! So many old ladies bawling their cute little eyes out! Heck, I would’ve been crying if I wasn’t singing. I also didn’t realize how many people had never heard the song before. I made my own alto part because it was a solo song, and it sounded SO good. Maybe my mom’ll put the recording on youtube or something so y’all can hear it. We listened to it maybe 20 times in a row yesterday. The headache was worth it.

Ok, I’ve got a funny story for you. So Friday night, around 3 am, I was sleeping you know, and I wake up to Søs Floyd climbing into my bed! We laid there for about 10 mins and I said “This is nice, Sister Floyd, but can you get into your own bed?” (Don’t want to be breaking any rules or anything) So she climbed back up and went to sleep. When I woke up the next morning and asked her why that happened, she told me she had no recollection of this event except when I woke her up and told her to go back to her own bed. She totally sleepwalked down her ladder and into my bed! And if it was anyone else I would’ve freaked out, but I love Sister Floyd. We’ve been laughing about it so much.

Have a wonderful week!

Søster Fergie

Quotes:
“So, about the 5 stomachs you were blessed with when you became a missionary…”

“We’re in the Ward but not of the Ward”

Me: “I just want to be short to somebody!”
Søs Floyd: “God thinks you’re short”

Søs Floyd: “I’m not planning on dating Hotak, unless he gets baptized, and then its JO tak ;)”

Up in Kalundborg last week

Up in Kalundborg last week

So after Marianne dropped us, the elders bought us our favorite candy to cheer us up. #BestEldersOmVerden

So after Marianne dropped us, the elders bought us our favorite candy to cheer us up. #BestEldersOmVerden

Søster Floyd: Investing in the people

Søster Floyd: Investing in the people

 

Leave a Reply

