Ferguson, Like the Tractor?

Yes, yes, that’s me. Every time I introduce myself, they always say either “Ferguson, like the football star?” or “Ferguson, like the tractor?” I personally have never heard of either, but I like the football star better. I’m not a tractor. The other one I’ve got is “Isn’t Ferguson that one British duchess?” I’m like “Yes. Yes she is. And she is not a tractor.”

Last P-day we took it in København because I had my language test that morning in Glostrup. But it was so fun! It’s weird being in a place, tourist-y-like and being actually able to read the foreign language on all the signs! Woo! Sister Williams came all the way down from Ålborg with Sister Reed so it was fun to hang out with them! And to catch up with my wonderful Sister Williams! Right as the Ålborg søstre left to head back home, we ran into a horde of Frederiksberg elders! So we hung out with them, stopped into some shops (Tiger, an amazing and adorable ‘dollar store’) and a funky 80’s thrift store. Good times, good times.

What else? I’m teething! My wisdom teeth are coming in. A few years ago I had my two back-most molars pulled because they had major cavities and the two wisdom teeth that I have will just fall down into those spots, so I’ve had this empty space in the back of my mouth, and this little tiny tooth is starting to come in. It’s making my whole mouth really tender. Woo. I thought I was done with this when I was 2.

So on Saturday we went up with the elders to Kalundborg to visit a referral that we’d had for a while. We got to Kalundborg and found out that we’d missed our bus by 3 mins and it only comes every 2 hours. So we camped in the train station and did some weekly planning. We took the bus 2 hours later up to Havnsø (about 45 mins away from Kalundborg), had to get some directions from the bus driver, but we made it. The thing is that Salma (the referral) doesn’t really live next to the bus stop and the next bus came in 40 mins. So we speed walked the 15 mins to her house. Got there and she was so happy to let us in! She’d wanted to be baptized before, but her husband got jealous of the elders so they stopped teaching her, but we’re sisters so there shouldn’t be a problem. Anyway we were able to have an incredible 10 min lesson before we had to run back to the bus stop to catch our bus. The thing is that neither Sister Floyd or I are good runners. We’d be running and run out of breath and have to take a walking break, but God would tell us exactly when we needed to run and when we needed to stop. It was crazy because we both had the exact same experience. Because we did that, we made it to the bus RIGHT as it pulled up. It was a miracle! We said a very very thankful prayer on the bus.

Ok, I have to tell you that I’ve reached a milestone in my Danish comprehension. I get SO many jokes. It’s fantastic! And Danes have incredible senses of humor. Seriously, I never stop laughing. It’s partially the Danes and mostly partially Søster Floyd. We laugh too much. A member called us “Søstrene Grine” (Sisters Laughing). It’s funny because there’s a little shop here called Søstrene Grene.

So we named our washer Jimmy. When he’s on spin-cycle he shakes the whole apt and you just hear Søs Floyd and I yelling “JIMMY! CALM DOWN! DO YOU NEED TO GO TO YOUR ROOM?” And then Søs Floyd turns to me and is like “He’s your child.” Which obviously offends me because he belongs to both of us. Jimmy throws tantrums a lot. Sometimes I’ll throw in “JAMES! DO I NEED TO TELL YOU AGAIN!”

Also, really quick, I realized how awesome listening to conference talks with less-actives is because it’s completely the spirit teaching. We are just the messengers!

Good stuff. I love this place. I love being on a mission.

Much lovelyhilsens,
Søster Fergie

Quotes:

Søs Fl: “Hey, remember when Elder Lester gave you some robins eggs and you lost your crap?”

Me: “I wonder what would happen if I knocked his nest down.”
Søs Fl: “Well sister, then he would be homeless”
Me: “Ya but he’s a pigeon. I hate pigeons”
(This is actually on the cover of Søs Floyd’s planner lige nu)
Søs Fl: “Your hatred for that pigeon is taking you away from your missionry work.”

“Witty brings the spirit, funny is just annoying.”

“You almost crashed the car! I blame the cake”

Søs Fl: “Inge should just buy a big bus and drive everyone to church.”
Torvald: “Well I like big bus and I cannot lie”

 

Language test in Copenhagen

Mormons!

Mormons!

Rolig (calm)

Rolig (calm)

"The first thing I saw when I got to Denmark was a golden field and the last thing I saw when I left Denmark was a golden field" #RapsForDays #BrorWilliamson #SøsterFloydJustBiffedItInTheRaps

“The first thing I saw when I got to Denmark was a golden field and the last thing I saw when I left Denmark was a golden field” #RapsForDays #BrorWilliamson #SøsterFloydJustBiffedItInTheRaps

Leave a Reply

