Coatless

K, in all actuality, we went maybe one day without coats, then it rained and cooled the earth off again. The struggle is real. But it really has been getting warmer! The dead bushes on the side of the road are either turning green or have flowers covering them! There’s this bush that has yellow flowers that look like the yellow leaves on the trees in Fall.

SO pretty!

So we were praying that some of the Easter ‘magic’ (though we know it’s something much greater) would trail into this week as well. Well it did! On Wednesday we biked up to a little landby (village) called Kornerup to visit a previous potential we’d been meaning to stop by. Sadly they weren’t interested, desværre, but we decided that while we were in the area we’d bank på the other street that we didn’t get to the last time we were there. The first door we knocked on a woman answered and we got talking. Apparently, her aunt is in our ward! But that’s not all, she invited us in for lunch! Of course we took the opportunity to talk with her and eat food. Such an awesome opportunity. We’re gonna go back and bring her a family proclamation. I saw her aunt at church and told her about it. I told her that she was a missionary without even knowing it! I’m sure the woman wouldn’t have let us in otherwise.

By the way, as we were knocking in Kornerup, we got hit with the fact that we’re not in Kansas anymore. Knocking on cottages that are older than America is pretty sweet!

That same day we had an appt. that we had to get back for. We stopped by a less-active who wasn’t home and had some extra time, so we sat down at a table just outside her opgang (apt building) and filled out some pass-along cards. While we were doing that, a man came and sat by us. He told us that he’d seen us around and wondered who we were! We chatted, prayed, set up a return appt, and got a new investigator! God literally gave him to us, just like Thomas last week. The appt. that we were going to also was incredibly positive. 2 (almost 3) new investigators in the same day! So many miracles.
Thomas is doing well. He’s an interesting person. Besides Britt (who is fantastic. We watched conference with her and committed her to keep the law of tithing and fasting after Elder Eyring’s talk Saturday morning. She’s still waiting for her answer.), our most positive investigator is Vino, one of our investigators from India. He’s so pumped about reading the Book of Mormon and wants to work on his faith. He and I have a connection in that way.

Life is good, people are opening up just like the flowers.

Friday we had Zone Training! It was so inspiring and such a blast. Sometimes missionaries just gotta stop and have fun. After the training we had a dessert competition and played sports! We crammed 22 missionaries into two cars and a train and went to a big soccer field. We played capture the flag, football, and American football (I was totally lost). Man, we have an awesome zone! Man we have an awesome mission! Søster Noorda and I were saying that you have to have a good sense of humor to get sent to Denmark. It’s just a requirement. Every single missionary that I’ve met, even if they’re awkward, is absolutely hilarious. Party in the mish!

K, funny story of the week. So Saturday morning we’re playing football. Like always. But I’d forgotten my sneakers at a dinner appt (I’m telling you, juvenile alzheimers) so I had no shoes to wear. A nice lady let me borrow her sneakers, even though I had no socks and they were a size too small. My feet have seen better days. Anyway, so we’re playing, we’re playing, it’s a really great game, and I accidentally hit the ball with my hand (A big problem, like so bad they should give me a nickname). Other times they just shrugged it off and kept playing, so this time when everyone stopped and this kid set the ball in front of him and backed up, I was like “what is he doing? no one is going for the ball!” so I ran up and kicked it. Everyone laughed and I pretended like I did it on purpose. Yep. I was telling Søs Noorda that I’m apologizing right now for whoever I’m companions with in the future because I am way weird. Plus all I talk about is Russia.

Two weeks ago our district goal was to write down how the Spirit speaks to your heart. I’ve found this to be a very difficult thing to do. The past 2 months that I’ve been here I’ve felt the spirit so differently than before my mission. The comforter is easy to describe. I feel a great sense of peace and love, like big arms are wrapped around me, like I’m cuddled in a warm blanket, so comfortable. It also calms me down when I should be freaking out. The Spirit as a prompter is a little bit harder to describe. before my mission it wasn’t really an aspect I utilized, so now when it’s the main aspect I utilize, I don’t really recognize it as easily. Usually it’s very still and small and if I’m not paying attention, I’ll miss it. When I’m studying, it’s a moment of clarity; when I’m teaching, it’s in the form of an idea, but when I’m out biking or walking, it’s so hard to pin-point. I have no idea if it’s really the spirit or just my own thoughts. I’m working on identifying it better. A lot of times all I can do is think “Well, it’s not a bad feeling I’m getting, so it must be okay.” I have to work harder for it now.
References: Alma 5:40, 1 John 4:6

The other day we were just leaving the apartment and we passed a kid sitting at a bus stop. I had the prompting to go and talk to him, which is awkward when you’ve just passed him on a bike, but I told Sister Noorda, we parked our bikes and walked back. We gave him a card and said goodbye. I have no idea if he’ll call us or look at the video, but I felt so good afterwards.

Have the best week! I’ll try as well, though I don’t know if anything can top the past few weeks.

Søster Fergie

Ja, jeg ved, at jeg intet er; hvad min egen styrke angår, er jeg svag; derfor vil jeg ikke prale af mig selv, men jeg vil prale af min Gud, for med hans styrke kan jeg gøre alt; ja, se, mange mægtige mirakler har vi udført i dette land, for hvilket vi vil prise hans navn for evigt. -Alma 26:12

(p.s. Daniel (Espinoza), this camera is the best ever.)

Creepy town with no name that we found out later is psych ward

Creepy town with no name that we found out later is psych ward

Cute road in Kornerup

Cute road in Kornerup

Russian Salad - beets and mayo! Had to get some!

Russian Salad – beets and mayo! Had to get some!

A pic with a pick ;)

A pic with a pick 😉

Leave a Reply

