Sunshine, Glorious Sunshine!

Haha, so when I got my call, I remember thinking, “Denmark! The land of beautiful sunshine, flowers, and cute European homes full of happy people.” European homes: yes. Happy people: yes. Flowers and sunshine….

But! I swear I control the weather because the first week it didn’t rain or anything, then the next week was a little better, but we had rain; then this past week we had so many sunny days! Even if the clouds are moving and you see a little tiny patch of blue, it pumps me up and makes me happy. Sunshine is the bomb dot com (which is a bad website, don’t go look it up).

Okay. My checklist today goes like this:

  1. I got hit by a car! I can still hear Ældste Hawkes’ voice in my head when I told him that night over the phone. Before you freak out, I am perfectly fine. I have a tiny, but brutal bruise on my left knee, but that’s about it. The car wasn’t going super fast, he just didn’t see me when he was turning because it was dark and raining. The pedal to my bike however is bent at a 20 degree angle and it is a party to use haha. I laugh a lot about it sometimes, and other times, when I’m riding uphill, for example, I am not laughing. I’m hoping to replace it sometime very soon. I know I’ve had so much heavenly help with it because otherwise I wouldn’t be able to get very far at all, but I seem to make it home every night from biking lots of places.
  2. Mailbox Man. The other night we got home a little before 9 so we decided to do some last minute contacting. We walked past the mailbox and I was going to get it when I had a thought “Don’t check the mail”. I did anyway, we didn’t have any mail and there wasn’t anyone around so I kind of shrugged it off. We walked up to the top of our street, and 2 or 3 seconds before we got there, a man crossed our path – 2 or 3 seconds that it took to check the mail. I have no idea if this man would have accepted our message or not, but I regret that so much. Moral of the story, kids: Never ignore a prompting. I’m an awful person too because we’d just taught a lesson in Sunday School on the Holy Ghost the week before.
  3. Oxygen man. Not as spiritual of a story, but one that should go down in the book. So we were bank på-ing (knocking doors) in an apt building. The very top floor, first door we knock we hear a muffled voice from the other side “Kom ind!” we obviously can’t just walk in so we stand there awkwardly. About 15 seconds later we hear scuffling and heavy breathing. A very old man with an oxygen tank opens the door VERY VERY out of breathe. We squeak out “hej, vi er missionær fra Jesu Kristi kirke af sidste dages hellige og vi har en budskab om Jesus Kristus og hans kærlighed for os” He shakes his head and shuts the door. MOST AWKWARD AND SORRY I HAVE EVER FELT IN MY LIFE. That man needs to know God loves him too, I guess.
  4. We have 4 pets. Edderkopper. Their names are Harold, Stanley, Bert, and Frank. Frank scares me though because he moved from his designated spot last night and we don’t know where he went. (I googled Edderkopper to find out what kind of pet she’s talking about. That would be spiders. Don’t freak out, Grandma – her pets are thousands of miles away.)
  5. In district meeting last week Ældste Hawkes gave an incredible lesson on Conversion and the Anti-Nephi-Lehis who gave up their weapons of rebellion towards God. We talked about what weapons of rebellion are holding us back from God, things like doubt and fear. So I’ve been thinking a lot about what mine might be, and ya I think doubt is a really big one. It’s hard having faith sometimes and letting God take over. Having faith that even though he’s received countless blessings, my dad WILL be healed; faith that God will work with Britt so that she’ll submit herself to Him and be baptized. It’s hard. I’m working on it.
  6. Danish is coming! It makes me happy! There was a couple that we had dinner with my first week and I could not understand a single word they said, but we had dinner with them this past week and I understood so much! The elders told me that I speak better than many new missionaries they’ve seen. And so many people keep complimenting me on my testimony last week in sacrament meeting. It makes me so happy and hopeful. It’s so neat to see people amazed at how quickly we both are learning Danish, and we know that it’s not us at all, it’s Heavenly Father. I have an extremely strong testimony of the gift of tongues and the interpretation of tongues. It also feels so good to contribute more in lessons.
  7. Family history! I have no time for it but I want to research EVERYONE! I want to see if I have any ancestors that lived in Roskilde. We had such a great experience with it last week. We went over to a member’s house and were expecting to share a prepared message, but she said “come and help me with Family Search!” We helped her input her deceased aunt and uncle, and she and her husband did the work for them in the temple on friday! She was telling us that she felt like it was her birthday! And it felt so gratifying to have helped her. It was amazing to see her so happy. I know family history is a very important work in this church, just as important as missionary work. There are so many more people who have died that need the blessings that the ordinances of the gospel bring than there are people alive. Get on it people! Do it because I don’t have time and you do, haha.
  8. Serena and Fleming. We met them while bank på-ing a few weeks ago and they were so cute. We stopped by their house last night just to see if they were home and we had a super long chat with them on their door-step! Haha they brought us saft (concentrated juice that you have to dilute with water) and caramels while we were talking on their porch! They told us to come by more because they never get visitors and like talking. They told us they will probably stop by church next week as well! What nice people. They were asking us about America and showing us pictures of their grandchildren (all while we were still standing on their porch).
  9. Theresa. She is incredible. I wish I could be more like her. I think I may have talked a little about her last time, not sure, but she’s from Alaska and she’s in her house all the time because she’s sick. But we go over all the time and make her food and talk på engelsk. She has 2 very cute cats (I love cats so much). I love her. She’s so strong and positive and she tries to be a missionary every opportunity she gets.

Well, I think that’s my week. Good stuff.

Jeg elsker alle jer.

Vi ses neste uge!

Søster Ferguson

 

FRI IS! Kinda weird to eat ice cream in February

FRI IS! Kinda weird to eat ice cream in February

 

My second sunset in Denmark

My second sunset in Denmark

Kaldt at Tjene - Called to Serve

Kaldt at Tjene – Called to Serve

Leave a Reply

