Anden Uge

Oh, man, there’s so much to say and so little time. Let’s see how long I can make this and how much I can type before the keys start smoking.

Okay, first, I had some inspiring thoughts the other day, and I anticipated that it would take too long to type up, so I just took some pictures of my journal page:

“I believe in Christ like I believe in the sun, not because I can see it, but by it, I can see Everything.”

This quote got me thinking about what a perfect comparison the sun is to the Savior, especially here in Denmark where it’s cloudy 24/7. Man, I think I could go on for hours on this analogy. First, I think I told you my sunrise & sunset analogy in my last journal, but in the same way, it comes up in the morning here but you can’t see it because of the clouds. You believe it’s there even though you can’t see it. You know it’ll be suny again someday.

I love the sun because it brings me happiness, light, & warmth. It can turn any bad day good again, or make a god day even better! When it leaves, you miss it. I feel beautiful in its presence. I want to take a part of it & stick it inside me.

Aw, man, I love sunshine more than life itself. The sunshine yesterday morning was a tender mercy, like Brother Eggett, the choir director said, “God gave me a gift & signed it ‘To Lucy, love Heavenly Father’.  I get so much energy from sitting & soaking it up.

“You, sitting in the sun right now, everything just looks perfect.”

Jeg kan ikki vente for sommer. Solskin altid.

”That which is of God is light; & he that receiveth light & continueth in god, receiveth more light, & that light groweth brighter & brighter until the perfect day.” – D&C 50:24

I’m hoping, as a missionary of the Lord, that I can be a window to help bring the warmth & love that I feel from the love of Christ to others who don’t have it & in doing so, I can be warmed & lightened as well. See D&C 88:7-13

One of my favorite talks was given by President Uchtdor titled “The Hope of God’s Light.” There’s a section, the very last in fact, that says, “I testify that with Christ, darkness cannot succeed. Darkness will not gain victory over the light of Christ. I bear witness that darkness cannot stand before the brilliant light of the Son of the living God!… Brothers & Sisters, even after the darkest night, the Savior of the world will lead you to a gradual, sweet, & bright dawn that will assuredly rise within you.”

Light: Glorious, Bright, Radiant, Soft, Warm, Healing, Illuminating, Important, Hopeful, Promising, Beautiful, Wonderful, Penetrating, Safe, Uplifting, Delightful, Joyful, Happy, Loving, Pure, True, Powerful, Strong, Sweet, Good, Shining

(Mom typed this up instead of posting the photos of my journal to make it easier for you to read.)

This week has been 10x better than last. I changed my attitude around without even really trying. It’s helped submitting myself to my Heavenly Father a lot and realizing why I’m here. I see someone on the street and think, “There’s a child of God that needs to see Him again.” Denmark is small, but there are lots of people that still need to hear the gospel. A nice difference is that even though they aren’t interested, they still wish us luck. Danes are so nice!

I’ve realized that missionary work is easy, it’s the people that are hard. Some people are so stubborn. All you can do is bear your witness that what you’re saying is true and pray with all your heart that God steps in and changes their heart. We have an investigator, Britt, that is SO CLOSE to committing to baptism, but she’s stubborn and won’t YET. Holbæk (city) had 4 baptisms on Saturday and Britt came, and I’m praying so hard that it touched her and she saw something that draws her in.

Biking is still rough. It’s not the sole focus of my life anymore. I’m a lot better than I was. God has a pretty strange sense of humor. Yesterday, we woke up and it was beautiful and sunny! But God was like “Nah, you’re not getting off the hook that easily,” so it was windy too, but ONLY when I was trying to bike uphill. I swear every day He’s like “Level up: wind AND snow on the day you wear glasses.” What a punk. (I hope He’ll forgive me for calling Him a punk, but He is.)

Last week for district møde, Søs Noorda and I made a pie (using mom’s pie crust recipe) for the elders because we’re nice. Ældste Hawkes hadn’t had a pie in a year and a half. So they were nice and gave us a lift to the church. We seriously have the best elders ever. It’s also nice being the only sisters in the district because elders are awesome and… make you make pies for them? We have Ældste Hawkes as our district leader, Ældste Parry is his comp and they’re in Holbæk, and then there’s Ældste Howland and Ældste Lester in Tåstrup.

Danish isn’t my main focus, but there are times when it overwhelms me. Those times are mainly at church. My head hurts so much after church just from trying to figure out what all the meetings are about. Everyone tells me that “it’ll come”. -_- ya ya. I know, but WHEN? I got up and bore my testimony in sacrament meeting yesterday and I’m pretty sure there were an insane amount of grammar mistakes, but so many people came up afterward and told me that they loved my testimony and they thought it was beautiful. What a very nice thing to say.

Last night we had a dinner appt with a less active and a man that we’ve been doing service for – Michael, who’s not a member. It was traditional Danish food and IT WAS MADE FROM HEAVEN! Man, good stuff! Anyway, afterwards we showed them the “He is the Gift” and “Because of Him” videos and all four of us missionaries (us & Tåstrup) bore our testimonies on Christ. The spirit was so thick you could cut it, and all four of us were pretty teary. It was incredible! I’m not sure if anyone else was as touched, but we can only hope.

Hmm… what else. I think I stole a bible from the MTC classroom because I got here and I had 2, one was mine and one wasn’t… Kære lærer… unskyld.

Last night we were riding home and the stars were INCREDIBLE! You never see this many stars in Salt Lake because there’s so much light pollution, but holy cow! God is truly amazing! It also was comforting to think that around the world, the people I love will see those very same stars. I found Orions belt and the Big Dipper! Someone find them for me in Utah and tell me!

Saturday we had a ward Fastelavn fest! Fastelavn is the Danish Halloween! It was so cute.

Anyway, I love you all! I hope this week is as good as the last! (If we get more dinner appts like the last, I’m sure it will be.)  😉

Jeg elsker dig! Vi ses,

Søs Ferguson

 

At church - Taken and emailed to Mom by Bror Stokholm, a member.

At church – Taken and emailed to Mom by Bror Stokholm, a member.

My own personal Stripling Warrior helping me along

My own personal Stripling Warrior helping me along

Bundled up for the cold

Bundled up for the cold

Roskilde Fjord

Roskilde Fjord

Um, nowhere else on earth can you get a pastry as delicious as the one I had today!

Um, nowhere else on earth can you get a pastry as delicious as the one I had today!

Leave a Reply

